• We need your support!

We are currently struggling to cover the operational costs of Xtremepapers, as a result we might have to shut this website down. Please donate if we have helped you and help make a difference in other students' lives!
    Click here to Donate Now (View Announcement)

Study tips

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a student and currently preparing to take my A levels Oct/Nov 2012. I will be taking six subjects: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Business Studies and Chinese.

I would like for some advice on how to manage my time and how can I study for those subjects. Currently, my plan is like this:

1. Monday, Thrusday (school from 8-3pm; math tution approx. until 6pm ; study)
2. Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday (school from 8-5pm; piano tution approx. until 8 pm ; study)
3. Saturday (lessons from 8-12pm)
4. I like to listen to music, so sometime I listen to instrumental songs when I'm studying..
5. I am the type of students who doesn't like to read, I prefer listening and watching than reading.

Currently, I could not manage to revise all the subjects everyday.

Please give me some advice and suggestions.. Thank you.. :)

Reaction score
Here is what I came up for you as your schedule is very tight.

6 months before your A levels, I'd suggest spending the first 3 months of it summarizing, making short notes for at least 5 days in a week. Within that months, you should have enough time to gather new informations and learn new topics.

Reading alone is boring, so try getting infos from your friends, tutors, internet, not just your textbooks.
Because you're not fond of reading. you can record your short notes into MP3, or even make slideshows on it within that 3 months. I'd still prefer reading because MP3 & slideshows can be quite distractive especially when you have concentration issues.