• We need your support!

We are currently struggling to cover the operational costs of Xtremepapers, as a result we might have to shut this website down. Please donate if we have helped you and help make a difference in other students' lives!
    Click here to Donate Now (View Announcement)

Can the invigilator stop my further examinations?

Reaction score
I am a student registered as an IGCSE Candidate
for May/June 2011 session.

We had a Biology Paper 3 exam today which had a
duration of 1 hour and 15 minutes.

The invigilators use an analogue wall clock to
time the ongoing examination.

I use my Digital Watch's built in Stopwatch
feature to help me time the Exam in order to help
me take the exam at a suitable pace and keep a
track of time.

I start the stopwatch at the same time the
invigilator tells us to start writing.

However, she had stopped the exam a few times
before the allotted time printed in the question.
In today's examination, she had told us to stop
writing at 1 hour 13 minutes and 47 seconds
exactly, according to my Digital Stopwatch, which
is most likely to be more accurate than the
analogue wall clock.

Therefore, after the examination, I had talked
to the invigilator and had told her that she had
taken stopped the examination about a minute
early.

She responded to me in a harsh manner. I was humiliated.
What she had told me was that I do not have the right to
question her words and that she had looked at the
analogue wall clock when she had asked us to stop
writing.

As a candidate, I believe I have the right to
complete my paper and revise it until the last
second of the duration given by the CIE.

She had made me write a note in which I was
forced to write that I had questioned the
invigilator. She had told me that she would report
me to CIE for questioning her authority and
thereby, cancel my further examinations.

I have 2 more exams left for this session and I
honestly feel that I had done nothing wrong by