• We need your support!

We are currently struggling to cover the operational costs of Xtremepapers, as a result we might have to shut this website down. Please donate if we have helped you and help make a difference in other students' lives!
    Click here to Donate Now (View Announcement)

Advice to decide, whether to take English Lanaguage (8693)

Reaction score
I am currently an O'Level student (will be Alevel student after this June session), and I am considering my future subject choices. The problem is that I want to take English Language in Alevels, but the Alevel institution of my choice does not offer it. Thus, my question is, it it worth taking English Language privately? The advantages I bring is I am a strong English Language student, and an average English Literature student. If I decide to give it, then should I give it in June, or just give it this October?

Thanks.

Reaction score
I would never recommend someone to give English A Levels unless he wants to go into literature. Honestly there's not a single advantage of giving it unless you want to pursue you career into I don't know something based on your English skills.
What most people don't understand is that English A Levels is not for your everyday use, you'll barely need the stuff and skills you develop in that subject for everyday life.
There are just a few things you need to know before you decide:
  1. If you want to speak good or write good then even the English from O Levels can teach you all you need.
  2. If you plan on using it as an English proficiency proof then let me tell you, I haven't seen a single University that accepts A Level English, you have to give Tofel or Ielts anyways or if you're lucky, some universities accept O Level English.